Lifestyle / Uncategorized

Steps to Recovery: Life Envy

Have you ever avoided going on your social medias: Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, Instagram, and etc because you didn’t feel like seeing friends/family look so darn happy? After reading this article posted by the “Independent” my beliefs on what social media does to our attitudes and emotions on life has been solidified. Admit it we often think that other people’s lives seems more glamorous than ours. It’s not that we feel that our lives are piss poor it’s just others lives seem to be on point at the moment. But in order to defer this feeling of being envy I have a couple ideas that are sure to get you out of that rut.
  1.  Positive declarations as you get ready to begin the day.
    1. As soon as you open your eyes try to think of 1-3 good things you either cannot wait to do the day of or things you want to happen. Ex: I’m going to be happy, I’m going to ambitious, I cannot wait to spend time with my friends! For myself personally I immediately get up and open my daily devotional and then I start my positive declarations and it immediately puts a smile on my face.
  2.  Avoid getting on social media when you first open your eyes.
    1. Yes I know that’s hard to do but think about it if you can not go immediately to your Instagram to check out friends awesome new photos with them on spring break you can avoid that “woe I wish it was me” feeling.
  3. If you don’t have strong enough will power to not get on social media just delete the apps off your phone !
    1. I do this tactic on and off but I like to delete the apps before I go to sleep at night so that as soon as I wake up I can’t easily access it.
  4. Do an activity that you know will bring you joy.
    1. It doesn’t matter what it is. It could be doing your hair, playing video games, binge on Netflix all day, or just getting outside to your local Starbucks. (I personally love getting my essential caramel macchiato from Starbucks as I watch some good YouTube blogs.)
  5. Avoid complaining when someone calls or texts you about life.
    1. We all have those friends who pretend they really want to know about how you’re doing but they really just want the scoop/gossip. You’re bigger than that and if you feel like you can’t genuinely get on the phone and talk about something funny, happy, or informational then don’t even answer the phone. Because as soon as you start up the complaining train you just simply cannot stop. In the words of the iconic and ultimate chick flick “Mean Girls”, it’s like word vomit.
  6. Watch some Netflix/Hulu.
    1. Whether you have a job or at home during a phase of “life envy” you deserve to do some healthy distractions. And what better way to breathe, relax, and do your own thing than to binge out on some Netflix/ Hulu shows? I know you have some such or movie that you’ve been yearning to watch, so go ahead and do it! Don’t worry about the 5 hours that has passed in duration of your binging you have a legit excuse this time!
  7.  Write out your blessings.
    1. A great way to get out of the “life envy” is to really sit down and reflect on all the things you have been blessed to have versus things you don’t currently have. I’m sure your list will have more blessings than you expected and will weigh out more than what you don’t.
  8. Go out and have some fun!
    1. This is the last step to get you out your funk. I love going out and sharing some laughs and making memories with friends. Life is too short to worry about what is on other peoples plates when you have a full one. Be grateful and live in the now! Whose to say what the future holds. It’s going to be amazing and you’re going to get everything you’ve ever wanted if you have faith, patience, and a great work ethic. Relax, your time is coming soon!

I’ve been through all of these steps and continue to do them whenever I feel myself slipping into envying someone else’s life that appears to be great on social media. Don’t get caught in the vicious circle of depression when it comes to social media. There are too many great things that are happening for you and it doesn’t involve social media.

Leave a Reply

