beauty / Lifestyle / motivation

Is My Ethnic Hair Not Beautiful?

I was watching “Black Girls Rock” on BET and during the commercial break I got a chance to see the highly anticipated Shea Moisture commercial. At first glance I thought it was going to be just a simple storyline where a black woman is showing off her beautiful natural hair in a nice stylish outfit walking down the street or something. But the commercial was far from it. Take a look at the commercial here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F2RVWTGAevE

The message that they urged was to “Break The Walls” and I couldn’t agree more. When I go to my local Walgreens, CVS, or another store the first isle I can be seen walking to is the makeup isle then the beauty isle. I already have a hard time finding my sufficient shade of foundation (which is another story) from different brands but at least I feel somewhat they are trying to have the shade you need. But it’s a complete different situation when it comes to getting the hair necessities. All down the beauty isle I can never find black women hair products! It’s so baffling because I spend countless hours looking, buying products that are insufficient and that can’t handle the texture of my hair, and complaining of the lack of diversity of the beauty brands. It wasn’t until I came to the end of the isle where I saw a sign/directory in the next isle that read “Ethnic Hair” the look on my face was pure and utter shock. I was lost for words! Since when was ethnic hair separated from the beauty isle where all the other women got their hair care?

Some may think that I should be happy that I finally have an isle dedicated to black hair products but my reactions was the total opposite. What message was the separation of isles saying? I’ll tell you, it informed not only me but every black woman who walked in the store that our hair is DIFFERENT than what beauty is. Beauty isn’t black hair, it’s everyones but mine. How insulting? My hair may be nappy, curly, thick, on one day but can  do a whole 360 and turn around and be long, shiny, and straight. My ETHNIC hair is beautiful beyond measure and its special.

I am so grateful that more and more black women are the becoming the faces of hair care, creating wonderful products that I can use, and whom are also breaking barriers to what beauty is considered. Us as women have that power to define our own beauty. Feel empowered to rock our hair natural hair wherever we go , whether it be in the office, out on the town, or in the comfort of your home.

I applaud Shea Moisture and all the other beauty brands who break the walls  of the status quo and continue to express that beauty isn’t just subject-able to one race but to all races. I applaud any product on the market whose goal is to unite women all over not segregate black women. Embrace our natural hair, our  kinks, coils, and curls. Most importantly teaching our special, powerful, innovative, and creative black girls that they shouldn’t be ashamed of their hair. They should feel confident and proud  in knowing that when they look in the mirror that the girl they see in the reflection  is beautiful inside and out and her hair for damn sure is beautiful too.

Leave a Reply

